Chat transcript from Community Discussion - Part 2 of 2

09:34:50 From Jonathan Romano : You could argue that this situation is just “normal” UX design
09:35:04 From Jonathan Romano : WRT a sandbox
09:35:16 From Jonathan Romano : Basically A/B testing
09:35:33 From Jonathan Romano : (Or other forms of user testing)
09:35:40 From Cat Davis Stylinski : @Lisa - thanks for the paper
09:35:43 From Lisa Rasmussen : And the SAN people in a few Southern African countries came up with their own code of ethics that’s worth a read to see their different areas of emphasis compared to traditional research ethics: https://www.globalcodeofconduct.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/San-Code-of-RESEARCH-Ethics-Booklet_English.pdf
09:36:07 From James Sprinks : Wiggins paper: https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/15265161.2019.1619859
09:36:30 From Jessie Oliver : @Jonathan, Well, I am a design researcher, and it’s something I think about, but it’s certainly not the norm for others I work with
09:36:47 From Lea Shanley : Thanks @James!
09:36:57 From Christopher Kyba : If you wnat to see a citizen science project that the medical community thinks is ethically fraught, check out TeQfor1 KIT - ITAS - Organization - Projects - TeQfor1 – Impacts of technical systems on the personal quality of life of people with type 1 diabetes
09:37:21 From Jonathan Romano : @Jessie Which is somewhat my point… it’s generally not strictly regulated, for better or worse
09:37:49 From Lea Shanley : @Lisa, the SAN paper is also referencing CARE Principles — Global Indigenous Data Alliance. I’m organizing a panel on Indigenous Data Sovereignty for the Academic Data Science Alliance in October. Will send link when available. The IEEE has a working group to develop metadata standards and practices for indigenous data under the CARE principles.
09:38:17 From Christopher Kyba : In TeQfor1, people with type 1 diabetes are using DIY artificial pancreases.