What considerations go into building a pipeline with partners whose ethics align with your own?

What role do ethics play in determining which researchers you partner with? My role at my organization (a citizen science, environmental and human health non-profit) is in project creation, this involves a lot of research on folks asking important scientific questions. Within the org we talk a lot about who we will and won’t partner with. For example, an oil company wanted to partner with us at one point and we declined because we don’t want to be tied in that closely with the extractive industries or green washing. We’re hoping to develop a decision tree, of sorts, to help guide or decisions in partnership development. Does anyone have anything similar? Or ideas on what we should consider?

I am a citizen scientist. While some ethics play an important part of any research project and with possibly selecting partners you might consider compatible, but be careful that your desire for alignment doesn’t result in research bias. Identify those ethical values that are independent from the research and those that could get intertwined with the research itself. While you may not like the ethical values of certain potential partners, unless you have a brand to protect, you may have to dance with the devil in order to get real answers.

Thanks for sharing your insights, as a citizen scientist, I’m curious how would you feel if you found out a project you were volunteering on was funded by bad actors? Would that have an impact on your trust in the org you were volunteering through?